Events

ABOUT CORCADORCA THEATRE COMPANY PRESENT "FAR AWAY" ON SPIKE ISLAND

“FAR AWAY” PRESENTED BY CORCADORCA Dates: From June 19th to July 1st, excluding Sundays (Previews June 16th and 17th) Time: 9.30pm (ferry departure) / 10.00pm (performance) Location: Kennedy Pier, Cobh (ferry) / Spike Island (performance) Tickets: €30 / Concession €26 / Previews €24 available from corkmidsummer.com Duration: 120 minutes approx. Additional Info: Outdoor performance, appropriate clothing and footwear is advised

CORCADORCA THEATRE COMPANY PRESENT

FAR AWAY

ON SPIKE ISLAND

From June 19th to July 1st, excluding Sundays (Previews June 16th and 17th)

Corcadorca Theatre Company, pioneers of site-specific productions, are coming to Spike Island in Cork Habour this summer with a production of  “Far Away” by Caryl Churchill, as part of the Cork Midsummer Festival. This unique event begins as you board the ferry at Kennedy Pier, Cobh, to journey to the island for a promenade performance of Churchill’s acclaimed anti-war play. 

“Far Away” is set around a hat factory in a chaotic world at war with itself. Written in the year 2000, it still reflects the current political landscape and offers a perspective on the cost of turning a blind eye. The production will see Corcadorca deploy their largest ever community cast who will be key to creating an aesthetic centrepiece for the show.

 

Due to ferry capacity, audience numbers for “Far Away” will be limited and early booking is strongly recommended. The ticket price includes return ferry fare. Early release tickets are sold out, and the next round of tickets go on sale May 3rd from www.corkmidsummer.com

  • ADMISSION

  • €24.00 PREVIEWS (June 16th & 17th) | €26.00 | €30.00 Full price

  • DATES

  • Mon, Jun 19 | 21:30
    Tue, Jun 20 | 21:30
    Wed, Jun 21 | 21:30
    Thu, Jun 22 | 21:30
    Fri, Jun 23 | 21:30
    Sat, Jun 24 | 21:30
    Mon, Jun 26 | 21:30
    Tue, Jun 27 | 21:30
    Wed, Jun 28 | 21:30
    Thu, Jun 29 | 21:30
    Fri, Jun 30 | 21:30
    Sat, Jul 01 | 21:30