Home | About | Contact us | Get listed

The Arts Council

Stewart Parker Trust Playwriting Bursaries

  • Set up in honour of the late Belfast playwright, Stewart Parker (1941-1988), the Stewart Parker Trust seeks to encourage new writers for theatre in Ireland, North and South. The Trust awards a Major Bursary to an emerging writer each year, and hosts an annual week-long residential workshop at the Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Annaghmakerrig.

  • Address

    Stewart Parker Trust

  • Website


  • Contact

Applications Procedure 

Competition Details: Open to new playwrights in receipt of their first professional production in each calendar year. 
Prizes: Stewart Parker New Playwright Bursary (stg£8,000); BBC Radio Drama Award (stg£1,000 plus an invitation to submit a play for production); BBC Irish Language Award (stg£1,000 plus an invitation to submit a play for production). 
Application Procedure: A non-submission award. Eligible writers are identified from the database of the Irish Playography, with decisions on awards made by the Trustees and appointed advisers. Professional theatre companies may wish to contact the Trust to ensure that all eligible debut playwrights are being considered.